New Fines in Alabama for Accidents without Proper InsurancePublished: Nov 24, 2017 in Car Accidents
If you don’t currently carry liability insurance on your vehicle, you should obtain it as soon as possible. The Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) is now enforcing a law passed in 2016 that requires drivers to have liability insurance on their vehicles. Enforcement of the law began on November 1, 2017. The law is targeted at Alabama uninsured motorists, who comprise nearly 13 percent of all motorists in the state. If you have incurred an injury in an auto collision due to the negligence or actions of another driver, our car accident lawyers can sort out the details of your case while you concentrate on your recovery. We can fight on your behalf to obtain any compensation to which you may be entitled.
The Mandatory Liability Insurance law requires Alabama motorists to carry insurance on their vehicle that comprises certain minimum amounts of coverage. A spokeswoman for the ALEA, Robyn Bradley, has stated that the law allows police officers to determine if a driver pulled over at a traffic stop or detained due to an accident possesses valid driver’s insurance. Under the law, drivers found to be without proper insurance now face civil penalties, including fines.
Call our team today at (205) 933-1500 to arrange a free, no-obligation consultation.
Alabama Auto Insurance Requirements
Drivers who are residents of Alabama have already been under the requirement to carry auto liability insurance. With the new law, however, uninsured motorists in Alabama will face a fine and other possible consequences if they are involved in an accident and found to be without proper insurance.
The law states that no individual may register, operate, or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed for use on a highway or public road unless that vehicle is covered by a liability insurance policy.
An automotive liability policy covers a driver for any damages or injuries they cause to another party in a vehicular accident. Under Alabama law, a liability insurance policy provided by an insurer licensed to operate in the State must cover the following:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to a person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to more than one person
- $25,000 for damage or destruction of property
A grace period has been in place between the passing of the law in 2016 and November 1, 2017 in order to provide time for motorists to obtain the necessary insurance coverage. Presently, if the vehicle you operate is involved in an accident and not covered by mandatory liability insurance, and you are not issued a citation for failure to have insurance, you will be subject to a civil penalty.
The penalties of violating the new law require an uninsured motorist involved in an accident to face the following civil penalty fines:
- $200 for the first offense
- $300 for the second offense
- $400 for each subsequent offense
Driver’s License Suspension
On top of the above fines, uninsured motorists face a 90-day license suspension if they fail to pay the civil penalty within 45 days, or if they fail to a hearing with the ALEA’s Driver License Division. The license reinstatement fee is $100.
A driver facing a civil penalty has the option to appeal for a hearing that will determine whether they had the proper insurance at the time of the incident.
The Goal to Stabilize Insurance Rates for Alabama Consumers
Commissioner of the Alabama Department of Insurance, Jim Riding, has explained that insurance premiums rise for others due to uninsured motorists on the road. He emphasizes that following Alabama’s Mandatory Liability Insurance law will serve to help stabilize insurance rates for the state’s consumers.
Contact Experienced Alabama Car Accident Lawyers
Our experienced car accident attorneys at Belt & Bruner, P.C. have decades of combined experience fighting for the rights of injured clients. If you’ve suffered a serious injury as a result of the actions or negligence of another driver, you can count on us to investigate your case and fight on your behalf for any compensation to which you may be entitled to.
If you or a loved one were injured in a devastating car accident, call the auto injury lawyers from Belt & Bruner, P.C. at (205) 933-1500 or use our online form. We offer a case evaluation free of charge and are ready to help you obtain full compensation for your losses. With offices in Birmingham, Mobile, Huntsville, and Montgomery, our car accident lawyers will quickly travel to investigate your case.